• 1
  • 2

BSJV scholarships for 42 students (2019)

Permanent Secretary (Manpower) at the Ministry of Energy, Manpower and Industry (MEMI) Haji Zolkiflee bin Haji Abdul Karim, Brunei LNG Sdn Bhd CEO Patrice Girard; UBD Vice-Chancellor Datin Dr Hajah Anita Binurul Zahrina binti Pehin Orang Kaya Laila Wijaya Dato Seri Setia Haji Awang Abdul Aziz with officials and recipients in a group photo

BY Lyna Mohamad

Forty-two exemplary students under the Brunei Shell Joint Ventures (BSJV) Scholarship Scheme on Monday inked their scholarship contracts in a ceremony held at the Indera Samudra Grand Hall of The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

Permanent Secretary (Manpower) at the Ministry of Energy, Manpower and Industry (MEMI) Haji Zolkiflee bin Haji Abdul Karim presented the First Class Achievers Awards to four returning scholars.

The CEO of Brunei LNG Sdn Bhd Patrice Girard and senior officials from BSJV companies, government ministries and local universities were also present.

The 42 students will be pursuing higher education at local institutions such as Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) and Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD), in addition to universities in the United Kingdom.

Since 1972, Brunei Shell Petroleum Co Sdn (BSP) has sponsored more than 700 scholarships under the BSJV Scholarship Scheme, allowing young Bruneians to pursue higher education both locally and abroad.

Photos above and below show Haji Zolkiflee presents the First Class Achievers Awards to recipients. PHOTOS: BAHYIAH BAKIR

Apart from this scholarship, other initiatives to develop young Bruneians include LiveWIRE Brunei programmes, i-Usahawan and opportunities for staff to gain working experience outside of Brunei through international assignment programmes.

These initiatives will contribute to the pool of professional resources required to fulfil the company’s vision to fuel Brunei’s future and to support the nation’s efforts towards achieving Brunei Vision 2035.

BSP Human Resources Director Hajah Zainab binti Haji MA Omar in her opening remarks stated that “Bruneianisation and people development are and have always been a priority for BSP.

“With passion, commitment and drive, there will be opportunities for the scholars to grow and shape their careers, and ultimately the future of the company.”

She also cited several former BSJV scholars who are now holding high posts at BSP, among whom is the current Deputy Managing Director Yap Kong Fah, who was awarded the BSJV Scholarship in 1982.

Najaa Halbi, who was awarded the scholarship in 2006, is now on a long-term international assignment as Strategy Lead and Business Advisor to the Executive Vice-President-Strategy and Portfolio of the Royal Dutch Shell at The Hague in the Netherlands.

Another BSJV scholar, Muhammad Norshafiee bin Dato Paduka Haji Abdul Jalil, will resume his post as Brunei Shell Marketing Co Sdn Bhd (BSM) new Managing Director next month.

This year’s scholarship signing ceremony is especially notable, as BSP, Brunei LNG and BSM will soon be marking their 90th, 50th and 60th anniversaries.

-- Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin

Related Articles