• 1
  • 2

Princess Maha Chakri Award for Brunei primary school teacher (2019)

BY Hakim Hayat

A Lambak Kanan Jalan 49 Primary School teacher has been selected to receive the prestigious Princess Maha Chakri Award (PMCA) along with 10 other outstanding teachers from Southeast Asia for their work that has made significant impact to students’ lives.

Hajah Noorliah binti Haji Aspar along with the other recipients were shortlisted through a selection process made by the PMCA Foundation with the Education Ministries from all ASEAN member countries and Timor-Leste, according to the Royal Thai Embassy in Brunei Darussalam.

The biennial award was set up in 2015 during Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn of Thailand’s 60th anniversary celebration, in recognition for her contribution, commitment and devotion to teachers and education, particularly towards disadvantaged groups in Thailand and Southeast Asia.

The PMCA Foundation provides general criteria that focusses on teachers who advocate change in student development and lives, particularly disadvantaged groups in the remote areas, which is the main emphasis of Her Royal Higness Princess Maha Chakri’s work.

The more specific criteria and selection process are conducted by Education Ministries of each country who submitted their nominations to the foundation that will later go through Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri for her endorsement.

The Royal Thai Embassy said once the nominations are endorsed, the PMCA committee members will visit each country to meet with education officials, ambassadors and the award recipient. They will meet Hajah Noorliah on September 18 at the school where she is teaching.

The award, which consists of a Golden PMCA Pin, a USD10,000 prize and a PMCA Plaque will be handed over to the recipients during a ceremony in Bangkok, Thailand on October 15.

The embassy said that the award aims to promote excellent teaching practices, inspire and serve as examples for teachers in Southeast Asia. “The unique and most important aspect of the award is the activities after receiving the award which will enable recipients to expand their practices to improve themselves and help other teachers in the countries and beyond,” the embassy stated.

Since inception of the PMCA, Bruneian teachers Hajah Ratnawati binti Haji Mohammad from Keriam Primary School, Tutong and Lim Soh Ngo from Duli Pengiran Muda Al-Muhtadee Billah College were named award recipients for 2015 and 2017. Hajah Noorliah will join them in becoming the award recipient for 2019.

-- Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin

Related Articles