• 1
  • 2

MS PDB finish first at traditional boat race (2019)

MS PDB members and representatives from Mukim Saba Boat Race team and MS ABDB team in a group photo. – PHOTOS: FIZAH HAB

BY Fizah HAB

THE Royal Brunei Police Force Sports Council (MS PDB) were crowned champion of the 25th Traditional Boat Race National Championship in the 30-Paddler Local Open category at the Serasa Watersports Complex on Sunday.

Mukim Saba Boat Race team finished second and the Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) team came in third in the same category.

Ten categories were competed in the championship – (A) Traditional Boat: 15-Paddler Local Open, 20-Paddler Local Open, and 30-Paddler Local Open; (B) Fibreglass Boat: 20-Paddler Local Open, 15-Paddler Inter-Ministries, 20-Paddler Inter-Ministries, 10-Paddler Mix Local Open, 15-Paddler Local Open, 10-Paddler Private Invitational, and 15-Paddler Private Invitational.

The Ministry of Defence (MinDef) finished first in the 20-Paddler Inter-Ministries, followed by Prime Minister’s Office and the Ministry of Development.

In the 15-Paddler Private Invitational category, TelBru Regatta Club team emerged champion after beating the Brunei Law Society and Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam teams in a close race.

TelBru Regatta Club members in a group photo

MS PDB ‘B’ won the 10-Paddler Mix Local Open category, while the 20-Paddler Local Open category was won by MS PDB.

Saba team dominated the 15-Paddler Local Open category, while Brunei Law Society won the 10-Paddler Private Invitational category.

Brunei Darussalam National Boat Race Association (PERKEBAR) President Haji Harris bin Haji Ibrahim and Head of Corporate Communications at TelBru Haji Ideris bin Haji Ali presented the prizes.

The tournament was organised by PERKEBAR in collaboration with the Youth and Sports Department and TelBru.

-- Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin

Related Articles