• 1
  • 2

Gladiators crowned TDAFA League champions (2019)

Gladiators Force FT in a group photo. – NFABD

BY Fadhil Yunus

GLADIATORS Force FT emerged champions of the Tutong District Amateur Football Association (TDAFA) League after defeating Tutong Hotspurs 3-1 in the final match at the Tutong Sports Complex recently.

Tutong Hotspurs opened the scoring in the 24th minute through Hanafizul Helmi bin Hanafiah. However, Mohd Isa bin Haji Bahar replied for Gladiators in the 33rd minute as either side could not be separated at the interval.

Gladiators took the lead after Mohamad Aliuddin bin Haji Basar struck in the 82nd minute before Muhammad Haneep bin Zainal added a two-goal cushion two minutes from time to settle the tie.

Tutong Hotspurs, who clinched back-to-back titles in the 2016 and 2017 seasons, advanced to the final for the fourth consecutive year after they edged Bamit FC 1-0. Their conquerors Gladiators survived a penalty shoot-out scare against 3PML to make the title decider.

Meanwhile, 3PML secured third place in the competition after they bested Bamit FC.

-- Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin

Related Articles