• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Winners feted in inaugural BDYA Sailing Championship (2019)

President of BDYA Dato Paduka Haji Idris bin Haji Abas presents a prize to a winner. PHOTO: FADHIL YUNUS

BY Fadhil Yunus

The inaugural Brunei Darussalam Yachting Association (BDYA) Sailing Championship 2019 came to a close on Sunday which saw multiple winners being feted at the BDYA Clubhouse Serasa, Brunei.

Nur Awatif Safri of Sabah emerged as optimist overall champion while Mohamed Amirul Aqmal Aslan of Sarawak snatched silver and Yusri Syahrizan Mohammed of Sarawak won bronze.

Muhammad Zahimul Hakim Zainal of the Kinabalu Yacht Club was named as laser men’s overall champion while Sarawak’s Nur Ameera Natasha Zamzurine won the overall laser women’s.

Abidin Aliakbar of Kinabalu Yacht Club claimed the windsurfing men’s overall title while Amabel Seow Min Hui clinched the windsurfing women’s overall title.

In the optimist boys, Mohamad Amirul of Sarawak took gold while Nur Awatif emerged winner of the optimist girls.

Muhammad Zahimul Hakim Zainal bagged gold in the laser standard sail while Nur Ameera Natasha Zamzurine struck gold in the laser radial sail.

Other gold medallists included Mohamed Yusuf Abdullah of Sarawak in the laser 4.7 sail, Abidin Aliakbar in the windsurfing raceboard, Mohamed Azmi Khamis of Sabah in the windsurfer BIC Techno and Asri Taib of Brunei Darussalam National Windsurfing Association in the windsurfer raceboard (Brunei closed).

Meanwhile, Nasiruddin Harun of the Royal Brunei Yacht Club was named Brunei Best Male Sailor while Alia Kaiyisah Mahadhir also of Royal Brunei Yacht Club was named Brunei Best Female Sailor.

The competition’s chief judge Leonard Chin proposed the implementation of a ranking system and encouraged the sailors to further their progress adding that the need for improvement is also extended to coaches.

“It is not just the sailors who have to improve. The coaches must improve. The race officials in Brunei must improve which means you should also improve race management, improve your judges, improve the technical people that’s involved in sailing because your sailors cannot improve beyond the expertise of your technical officials,” said Leonard in his speech during the closing ceremony and prize presentation.

“If your technical officials are not very good, your sailors cannot be better so I encourage all the race officials, technical people whether you’re a club judge or a club race official, or club technical committee person, try to go one step higher so that you’re sailors that you are handling also can go one step higher.

He added, “Without doing that, you can’t improve your sailors in your country. This is based on our own experience.”

Leonard also acknowledged a pivotal figure in the sport that is responsible for the increase in quality in sailors in Sabah before adding that Brunei through the Kuala Belait Boat Club helped Sabah in improving the standard of sailing.

Meanwhile Organising Committee Chairman and BDYA Deputy President Muhammad Fadzlin bin Hassan in his speech said, “This event is a learning curve and experience for my team. For our next event, we will organise a similar regatta and nevertheless I hope the participants will put their experience on the waters and on land to good use”.

President of BDYA Dato Paduka Haji Idris bin Haji Abas presented the prizes.

-- Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin

Related Articles