• 1
  • 2

National boat racing championship this Sunday (2020)

BY Izah Azahari

The 26th National Traditional Boat Racing Championship 2020 organised by the Brunei Darussalam National Boat Race Association (PERKEBAR) will be held on Sunday at the Serasa Water Sports Complex.

The highlight of the championship will be the 30 traditional boat rowers in which the champion of the category will receive a trophy contributed by Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran Lela Cheteria Sahibun Najabah Pengiran Anak Haji Abdul Aziz bin Pengiran Jaya Negara Pengiran Haji Abu Bakar, Chief of Adat Istiadat Negara as patron of the Brunei Darussalam Lela Cheteria Team.

The race categories of the championship include the 20 and 25 traditional boat rowers, along with five categories using fibre glass boats including the 20 rowers open local, 15 and 20 rowers between ministries, as well as 15 and 20 rowers between private companies.

Winners of the championship will receive cash prizes, trophy, and championship trophy for each category.

The meeting for team managers for the championship was held at the Training and Development Unit Meeting Room, Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas last Sunday. During the meeting, a briefing was held on the racing requirements and rules as well as the boat number and lane draw.

Also included in the championship is the seven categories of Speed Boat Racing event.

The President of PERKEBAR Haji Haris bin Haji Ibrahim during the meeting also reminded participants to always follow the rules of the championship as well as to always have a high sporting spirit.

The president also hoped that the championship will be smooth without any incidences. He hoped boat-racing fans will participate.

-- Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin

Related Articles