• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

Menglait Stingers champions of national badminton league (2020)

BY Fadhil Yunus

Menglait Stingers were crowned champions of the National Badminton Team League Championship after recording 21 points from seven matches at the Multi-purpose Hall of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Sports Complex on Sunday.

Menglait Mavericks claimed the runners-up spot after accumulating 18 points, followed by the Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) with 15 points.

During the final round of matches, the newly crowned champions cruised to a 5-0 win against T2A, while MS ABDB beat Onjatu 4-1 in the decider for third place.

Permanent Secretary (Administration, Finance and Estate) at the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports Pengiran Mohd Amirrizal bin Pengiran Haji Mahmud presented prizes to the winners.

Acting Director of Youth and Sports Mariam binti Ulat presented prizes to the second-place winners, while Brunei Darussalam National Badminton Association (BDNBA) President Pengiran Haji Hamzah bin Pengiran Haji Mohammad presented to the third-place winners.

In addition to medals and cash, the top three winners also received various Yonex badminton racquets models.

All participating teams also received plaques of participation and Purion water contributed by Syarikat Leesin Sdn Bhd, presented by its Business Development Manager Jackie Tan Yu Chui.

Organised by the BDNBA in cooperation with the Department of Youth and Sports, eight teams involving 120 players competed.

The tournament was contested in a round robin format with each victor being awarded three points.

Since the launch of the tournament on February 2, a total of 140 matches were held across seven rounds.

-- Courtesy of Borneo Bulletin

Related Articles